Time zone handling

Sometimes the source and target systems of a migration project are located in different time zones. In order to avoid wrong date and time values in the target system, it is important to understand how migration-center handles date and time values.

Unfortunately, the handling of date and time values in migration-center 3.x depends on the source and target adapters. Thus we have to distinguish between adapters that perform a conversion into the job server's time zone and adapters that do no conversion. Currently, only the OpenText scanner, OpenText importer, and the database scanner do not perform any date and time conversion. All other adapters convert the date and time values into the time zone configured on the job server machine before the values are written into the migration-center database (in case of a scanner) or into the target system (in case of an importer). A special case is the SharePoint scanner. It will be handled in a separate section at the end of the article.

Let's take a look at the following figure to explain migration-center's time zone handling.

Suppose the source system is located in Portugal, which is in the West European Time zone (=UTC). The migration-center's job server is located in Germany, which is in the Central European Time zone (=UTC+1). And finally, the target system is located in Finland, which is in the Eastern European Time zone (=UTC+2).

 

 

A Documentum scanner would convert the West European Time date time values (see first column in the table below) into Central European Time values (middle column) and store those in the MC database. A Documentum importer would then convert those date time values into Eastern European Time values (right column) before saving them in the target system.

 

Source System Date Date saved in MC database Target System Date
12.06.2017 15:00:00 WET 12.06.2017 16:00:00 CET 12.06.2017 17:00:00 EET
11.06.2017 23:00:00 WET 12.06.2017 00:00:00 CET 12.06.2017 01:00:00 EET

 

Problems can occur, when

  • Different job servers are used for scanning and importing and they are located in different time zones. If this is the case, please ensure that all job servers used in that particular migration have the same time zone setting.

  • Either source or target system is OpenText or database. In this case, please set the job server's time zone to the time zone of the OpenText or database system.

  • Source and target systems are OpenText or database, i.e. migration from database to OpenText or from OpenText to OpenText. Unfortunately, this case is currently not supported by migration-center. Please contact our product support to discuss possible solutions for this case.

 

Time zone handling in the SharePoint scanner

The SharePoint scanner consists of two parts: A WSP part that is installed on the SharePoint server and a Java part that is installed in the migration-center job server. The WSP part will read date time values with the time zone settings in SharePoint's regional settings, for example West European Time in the example above. Unfortunately, the Java part of the SharePoint scanner always expects date time values in UTC. Therefore the time zone on the job server must be set to Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). This will ensure that the scanner saves the correct date time values in the migration-center database.

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.
Powered by Zendesk